Amanda Shires Announces New Album With Bobbie Nelson, Shares “Summertime” Cover: Watch the Video

Amanda Shires has announced Loving You, her new album with the late Bobbie Nelson, with a new cover of the Gershwin standard “Summertime” featuring Nelson’s brother Willie.  Loving You is due out June 23 via Silver Knife/ATO. Check out the full track list and the video for their rendition of “Summertime” below.

The video was co-directed by Shires and Deren Ney and shot by photographer Joshua Black Wilkins and album producer Lawrence Rothman at Arlyn Studios in Austin, Texas. The studio is co-owned and operated by Nelson’s son Freddy Fletcher, who also plays drums on the album.

“I think she related to the song because she was a mother and the family unit was important to her, whether or not she had the idealized version,” Shires said in a statement. “I first saw Bobbie playing when I was 16 or so at some festival somewhere in Texas where I grew up. I saw her perform many times over the years and always admired the way she played so effortlessly and with so much strength and confidence. She radiated music. Much of my path seemed possible because I saw a woman working and making a career of music at a young age, and that woman was Bobbie Nelson.”

Bonnie first recorded the song with Willie for their 2016 Grammy-winning record Summertime: Willie Nelson Sings Gershwin. The siblings released a memoir called Me and Sister Bobbie: True Tales of the Family Band in 2020 via Random House. She died last year at 91. 

Shires released her last LP Take It Like a Man in 2022. In February she performed the Take It Like a Man track “Hawk for the Dove” alongside her husband and frequent collaborator Jason Isbell.

All products featured on Pitchfork are independently selected by our editors. However, when you buy something through our retail links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Amanda Shires & Bobbie Nelson: Loving You

Amanda Shires & Bobbie Nelson: Loving You

Loving You:

01 Waltz Across Texas
02 Always on My Mind
03 Old Fashioned Love
04 Summertime [ft. Willie Nelson]
05 Angel Flying Too Close to the Ground
06 Dream a Little Dream of Me
07 Tempted and Tried
08 La Paloma
09 Loving You
10 Over the Rainbow

Original Source link

Please share this page!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: