Mary Timony Reissuing Debut Solo Album Mountains


Mary Timony—the singer-songwriter behind Helium, Autoclave, and Ex Hex—has announced a new reissue of her debut solo album Mountains. The reissue of the 2000 album is out January 15 via Matador. The album arrives as a 2xLP with a gold foil-embossed gatefold and it features unreleased original versions of “Return to Pirates,” “Poison Moon,” and “Killed by the Telephone.” It also includes a newly recorded orchestral version of “Valley of One Thousand Perfumes.” Hear that new version below.

“Listening back to Mountains now I am struck most by how raw it sounds,” Timony said in a statement. “I hear the depression and angst, but also I hear all of that darkness disappearing through the power of music and friendship—and turning into songs during those happy and productive months recording and hanging out in Christina [Files]’s loft in downtown Boston.”

Another bonus that was shared today is a Mary Timony–starring 1999 short film directed by Brett Vapnek called Dream Machine. Watch it below.

Revisit Pitchfork’s 5-10-15-20 interview with Mary Timony.

Please share this page!

Articles You May Like

Taylor Swift Raises Scooter Braun Feud at AMAs, Weeknd’s Mummified and Other Highlights
How to Watch The Disney Holiday Singalong Featuring BTS, Michael Buble, Kerry Washington, and More
The Kardashians Had a Big Family Gathering for Thanksgiving, Ignoring CDC COVID Guidelines
Diego Maradona’s Lawyer Demands Investigation, Says Death ‘Criminal idiocy’
Charles Barkley Uses Golf Balls with Shaq’s Face on Them at ‘The Match 3’