Beyoncé Releases New Album Cowboy Carter: Listen and Read the Full Credits

Beyoncé’s rootsy era is officially under way: Her new album, Cowboy Carter, is out now, and you can check it out below. The mammoth, 27-track record features a cover of the Dolly Parton classic “Jolene,” as well as brief appearances from country great Willie Nelson on the “Smoke Hour” interludes. Parton appears, too, on “Dolly P.” A promotional poster that Beyoncé shared on social media, titled Cowboy Carter and the Rodeo Chitlin’ Circuit, alludes to the venue circuit where Black entertainers could tour during the Jim Crow era.

Additional guests on Cowboy Carter include Miley Cyrus, Post Malone, and “Buckle Bunny” singer Tanner Adell, the latter of whom is on “Blackbiird”—a cover of the Beatles’ “Blackbird.” Writing the White Album song in 1968, Paul McCartney was inspired by the Little Rock Nine.

Along with her faithful covers of “Blackbird” and “Jolene,” Beyoncé interpolates the Beach Boys’ “Good Vibrations” and Patsy Cline’s “I Fall to Pieces” on the album.

Cowboy Carter includes the singles “16 Carriages” and “Texas Hold ’Em,” the latter of which topped Billboard’s Hot Country Songs chart, making Beyoncé the first Black woman to do so. The song was also a Billboard Hot 100 No. 1, becoming Beyoncé’s ninth chart-topper and first since “Break My Soul.”

Upon announcing the LP, Beyoncé described it as Act II, following the Act I framing of Renaissance. She recently shared the artwork and a note on Cowboy Carter. “This ain’t a Country album,” she said. “This is a ‘Beyoncé’ album.”

Original Source link

Please share this page!

Leave a Reply